World’s First T10 Cricket League Launches In Dubai, Afridi Returns

Yesterday the launching ceremony of world’s first T10 Cricket league was held in Dubai. T10 league is a joint collaboration of Emirates Cricket Board member Shaji Ul Mulk and Salman Iqbal, the CEO and President of ARY Digital Network and owner of Karachi Kings. The chairman of the league is Mr. Shaji while the president is Mr. Iqbal.

This is quite a different cricket tournament that will feature the best international players around the globe at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in December.

Must read: Jazz discovers new cricket rising stars in Pakistan

Shaji Ul Mulk said, “Today you see that in all popular sports whether its football or volleyball, the matches are 90 minutes long so the only way we can bring cricket into the fold is through a 90-minute format which T10 can provide.”

Mr. Salman Iqbal complimented Shaji Ul Mulk for his efforts to organize the extraordinary event. He feels that this league will make cricket more famous than football.

There will be six teams from the South Asian region in the T10 cricket league. Famous cricketers Shahid Afridi, Inzamam ul Haq, Kumar Sangakkara, Shakibul Hassan, Virendra Sehwag and Eoin Morgan are the ambassadors of the six teams.

Afridi said he is “very excited” to play in such a format. “When [Pakhtoons franchise owner Habib Khan] came to me tell me about this, I said ‘Please, let me play in this format’.”

Inzamam ul Haq on being part of the tournament said, “I am very happy to be part of this league and see this very innovative concept that my friend Shaji Ul Mulk is introducing take off well.”

Najam Sethi Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board has said that PCB will support this tournament as long as it promotes healthy cricket in Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *