WhatsApp’s view-once feature is returning to desktop users

The disappearing messages feature is a feature that automatically deletes a message or media file after a given time frame. In addition to text messages, users can use this feature for media files like videos and images. Interestingly, the media files can be sent in view-once mode. This feature is available on several social media messaging apps. It can be found on the mobile version of WhatsApp as well.

Currently, the disappearing message and view once features are available on both iOS and Android. In the past, these features were available on the web version and desktop as well. However, in 2022, the features were removed by the company from the desktop and web versions of the app in order to improve security.

As of now, the company is retreating. As reported by WABetaInfo, the feature will be reintroduced to desktop (Windows, MacOS) and web users. It has already been available to beta testers for the last few weeks. It is not yet apparent, but there’s a significant probability that WhatsApp will ultimately restore the capability to open and view photographs and videos on desktop and the web.

The feature is currently in the testing phase. There is no information on when this feature will be rolled out to the general public. We will keep our readers posted on the updates.

Leave a Reply