WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature where the receiver can see the photos and videos only once. This disappearing feature for photos and videos is called “View Once”.
According to a statement,
For example, you might send a View Once a photo of some new clothes you’re trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password.
The company has already tested this feature in June this year and is ready to roll out to the masses,
This feature is not unique. Instagram has been doing something similar. Once a user views a photo or a video, it won’t be accessible later for that same user.
A user, however, can take a screenshot or record the video without letting know the sender. The same data is also kept private from WhatsApp as it would be sent with end-to-end encryption.
It has been a long time since I joined Research Snipers. Though I have been working as a part-time tech-news blogger for the past few months, it still feels good to be part of the team. Besides this, I am working with a Canadian-based real estate business and running my own financial blog.