Sri Lanka Suspends Free Visa on Arrival for Pakistan

Visa on arrival

Sri Lanka has postponed free visa on arrival for Pakistan. 39 countries citizens’ free visa on arrival has been suspended by Sri Lanka including Pakistan.

Due to the disturbing Easter suicide bombing incident in Sri Lanka that killed 360 people, this decision has been taken.

John Amaratunga the tourism minister in a statement said, “Although arrangements were in place to issue visas on arrival for citizens of 39 countries, we have now decided to hold it for the time being in consideration of the current security situation.”

Interesting: Top Ten Airlines In The World In 2019

Earlier news reports revealed that Sri Lanka is starting free visa on arrival facility for 39 countries citizens including Pakistan. The aim was to boost tourism. It was decided that this new step would be effective by 1st May and will continue for six months. But now all has been put on hold.

Currently the counties offering visa-free entry to Pakistani citizens are Dominica for 6 months, Haiti for 3 months, Qatar, Micronesia for a month, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines for a month, Trinidad and Tobago for 3 months and Vanuatu for a month.

Visa On Arrival facility is given to Pakistanis in Cambodia for a month, Cape Verde for a month, Comoros for 45 days, Guinea-Bissau for 90 days, Madagascar for 90 days, Maldives for a month, Mauritania, Mozambique for a month, Nepal for a month, Palau for a month, Rwanda for a month, Samoa for 90 days, Somalia for 30 days, Timor Leste for 30 days, Togo for 7 days,  Tuvalu for 30 days and Uganda for 30 days.

Countries Offering E-Visa to Pakistanis are Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Benin, Bolivia, Cambodia, Colombia, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Georgia, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Malaysia, Myanmar, Moldova, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, Tajikistan, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *