PSL Season 3 2018: Teams, Matches, Players & Schedule

The third season of PSL 2018 will have six teams instead of five.

The six teams in PSL 3 are

  1. Islamabad United
  2. Karachi Kings
  3. Lahore Qalandars
  4. Peshawar Zalmi
  5. Quetta Gladiators
  6. Multan Sultans

National & International players part of PSL Season 3

Islamabad United: Mohammad Sami, Andre Russell, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Samuel Badree, Iftikhar Ahmed, Amad Butt and Asif Ali will be part of the team. Misbah ul Haq will lead the team again.  Waqar Younis has replaced Wasim Akram as their fast bowling coach. New additions in the team are Shane Watson, Steven Finn, Samuel Badree, Brad Haddin, and Sam Billings.

Karachi Kings: Karachi Kings have brought in Chris Gayle into the team and Shahid Afridi has joined the team as player president. Usman Khan, Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor, Ravi Bopara, Imad Wasim, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Shahid Afridi are part of Karachi Kings.

Lahore Qalandars: Sohail Tanveer is a new entry in Lahore Qalandar along with Aamer Yamin. Umar Akmal, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Fakhar Zaman, Yasir Shah, Cameron Delport, Aamer Yamin, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Khan are part of the team. Shoaib Akhtar has been brought in the team as a mentor.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mahmudullah, Umar Amin, Mir Hamza, Asad Shafiq have been part of the team for last two seasons. We might see new additions, Umar Gul, Luke Wright, Saad Nasim, Nathan McCullum, Thisara Perera in the team.

Peshawar Zalmi: Last year’s winner of PSL, will play PSL 3 with Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Shakib al Hasan, Kamran Akmal, Darren Sammy, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Asghar.

Multan Sultans: PSL Season 3 will have 6 teams and Multan Sultans is the newest addition. Waseem Akram has joined the team as cricket operations director while Tom Moody will be the head coach of the team. Shoaib Malik will lead Multan Sultans team. Junaid Khan and Kieron Pollard will be part of this team.

Schedule & Matches

At the moment not much is known about schedule and matches of PSL-3. We do know that the defending champions of last season, Peshawar Zalmi want that some matches are played in Peshawar. Chairman PCB Najam Sethi has indicated that 4 matches of PSL season 3 might be played in Karachi while 6 in Lahore.

Peshawar Zalmi owner Javed Afridi said, “After the success of PSL final in Lahore, we, the Peshawar Zalmi, demand to play PSL 3 matches in (the) home of champions and enjoy Zalmi’s hospitality.”

Also read: T10 cricket series facing objections from certain PSL franchises

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *