Prisoners allowed to vote in NA-120 constituency by-election – Research Snipers

Prisoners allowed to vote in NA-120 constituency by-election


The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has decided to allow the prisoners belonging to National constituency NA-120 to vote in the by-election scheduled for September 17.

The details reveal that the convicts will be able to cast their vote in the forth-coming election using the postal service.

A draft has been sent by the ECP to the Punjab chief secretary in this regard. The citizens who are subjected to house arrest or imprisonment will be able to submit application for postal voting until August 30. Furthermore, the jailbirds will exercise their right to vote through postal service on September 6.

The NA-120 Constituency

The constituency includes Hall Road, New Anarkali, Old Anarkali, Urdu Bazar, Bilal Gunj, Lytton Road, Abbot Road, Nisbat Road, Dhobi Mandi, Fareed Court House, Fish Market, Jain Mandar, Neela Gunbad, Ganga Ram Hospital, Mayo Hospital, Davis Road, Nabha Road, Outfall Road, Palm Street, Royal Park, Temple Road, Data Darbar, Pir Makki Bazaar, Islampura, Shamnagar Road, Ganga Ram, Aibak Road, Sanda, Lower Mall, Civil Secretariat, District Court, Session Court, Civil Court, Sardar Chappal Chowk, Mohni Road, Ravi Road, Queens Road, Mominpura, Krishan Nagar, Riwaz Garden, Khokharr Town, Sanatnagar, Lake Road, Kasurpura, Ravi Colony, Ameen Park, Corporation Colony, Mohni Road, Firdous Park, Gulshan Riaz Colony, Malik Park, Ittehad Colony, Azadi Chowk, Kardar Park, Kapurthala House, Latif Park, Mission Road and other areas.

Tough Competition to PML-N

NA-120 will see strong contenders with tough competition in the constituency. The contenders include Kulsoom Nawaz, Dr. Yasmeen Rashid and Faisal Mir on tickets of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf and Pakistan Peoples Party respectively.

Read: Rawalpindi Traffic Police Cracking Down On Tinted Windows

Image via Empower