Pakistan Announces Visa-on-Arrival Facility for 48 countries – Research Snipers

Pakistan Announces Visa-on-Arrival Facility for 48 countries


A new notification by the Ministry of Interior states that citizens of 48 countries will be granted visa on arrival facility. The new visa policy will come into effect from 15th April, as per the new notification.

For 48 countries visa requirements have been relaxed. The countries included are Brazil, Germany, Iran, Malaysia, Russia, Turkey, China, Sri Lanka, Australia, and Denmark. The countries that won’t be able to benefit from this new policy include India, the United States, the United Kingdom, and Afghanistan.

Must read: Sri Lanka Suspends Free Visa on Arrival for Pakistan

Initially, the visa will be granted for a 3-month period. Diplomats of 12 countries can also avail this opportunity. Government passport holders and diplomats of 31 nations can find this new visa policy beneficial.

Earlier Prime Minister Imran Khan on 13th March made an announcement regarding the launch of a visa-on-arrival policy for five countries. These countries included Turkey, China, Malaysia, the UK, and the UAE.

An e-visa service was developed by the National Database and Registration Authority (Nadra) that is similar to the US and the UK systems.

Also, it was revealed by information minister Fawad Chaudhry that the PTI government is planning to offer online visa facility to residents of more than 175 countries. The aim is to boost tourism.