New CM for Gilgit-Baltistan to be Elected on Monday


On Friday, the GB Assembly secretariat released a revised schedule according to which the new Chief Minister will be elected in Gilgit-Baltistan on Monday.

The reports said that as per the schedule the nomination papers can be succumbed by 11:30 am on Monday.

Nomination papers will be examined and published by noon, while applicants can withdraw their application at 2 pm.

After holding an election in the assembly, the result will be announced at 4 pm.

Barrister Khalid Khurshid has been nominated from PTI, it was finalized at a meeting chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan and attended by PTI Chief Organizer Saifullah Khan Nyazee in Islamabad on Friday.

The party has already taken the key slot of GB Assembly speaker after Amjad Ali was elected previously this week.

As per the sources, Khurshid’s name was finalized after consultations with the PTI central leadership and its chapter in Gilgit-Baltistan. 

On November 24, the PTI government announced that it is set to form government in GB after obtaining a majority in the Legislative Assembly following the 2020 election.

The party seized ten seats in the general elections. But after gaining the support of 6 independent winners and allocation of 6 reserved seats, PTI secured 22 out of the 33 seats in the Assembly.

Raja Shahbaz Khan Chief Election Commissioner Gilgit-Baltistan stated that the PTI was declared successful in ten seats, independent candidates won 7 seats, PPP obtained 3, PML-N won 2, whereas JUI and MWM won 1 seat each.

More read: Actor Maryam Nafees Tests Positive for Coronavirus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *