HEC Issued a List of Unrecognized Educational Institutes in Pakistan – Research Snipers

HEC Issued a List of Unrecognized Educational Institutes in Pakistan

The province of Punjab has got a total of 61.81 % unrecognized higher education organizations in the country. This information was released by the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan (HEC). A public advisory was also issued in this regard.

It was stated that many universities, affiliated colleges, campuses, foreign incorporated setups are running illegally in Pakistan that is they do not have HEC’s permit to operate their educational standings.
It was further mentioned that all such institutions are advised to halt their activities immediately. The advisory documented that if the institutions fail to abide by the order they would be closed using power by the help of law enforcement agencies and the provincial government. Students and parents were also notified that degrees of such non-recognized educational platforms would not be considered verifiable by HEC.

The list dispensed by HEC has got three groups. The first one holds all the non-recognized universities. The second group comprises of all those public-private corporations that were made without HEC’s consent. For opening such partnerships, an NOC that is a no-objection certificate is needed.
Lastly and the third group enlists foundations under the evaluation of HEC.

Majority of the institutes of all three groups are from Punjab.

The non-recognized list had a total of one hundred and sixty-five institutes out of which one hundred and two are operating in Punjab. Out of the one hundred and two, thirty-eight institutes are of Lahore.

Also Read: HEC and CRBC to Offer Scholarships to 30 Engineers

All the identifiable institutes of the second group were from Punjab. The shortlist has got only two university campuses, which are public institutes. Federal Urdu University of Arts, Science & Technology and Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University campuses in Lahore, Narowal & Sialkot and Lahore & Vehari, respectively. Both of these universities are operating without NOC from HEC.

The third groups’ five out of six universities were again of Punjab. The list holds the names of these universities:

  • Hajvery University campus in Shiekpura,
  •  University of Sarghoda campus in Faisalabad, Mandi Bahauddin, Gujranwala, Bhakkar, Mianwali and Lahore
  • National College of Business Administration and Economics campus in Rahim Yar Khan,
  • Government College (GC) University Faisalabad’s campuses in Layyah and Sahiwal, and
  • Bahauddin Zakariya University (BZU) campus in Lahore.

The complete list of the illegal educational institutes by HEC is available on the official website of HEC from where it could be accessed along with many advisories released by the Higher Education Commission.