Google Accidentally Sent your Private Videos to Strangers – Research Snipers

Google Accidentally Sent your Private Videos to Strangers

private

Google has accepted that due to a software glitch some Photo app smartphone videos were given to the wrong people/strangers. Google has notified the people who might have been affected due to it.

Google in reply to an AFP inquiry said, “We are very sorry this happened.”

Read this: Epilepsy Foundation gets attacked on Twitter

Adding, “We fixed the underlying issue and have conducted an in-depth analysis to help prevent this from ever happening again.”

It has been estimated that a small fraction of a percent of those who used a “Takeout” tool might have faced the glitch. This has affected the people who used the app to export stored videos from Google Photos from 21st to 25th November 2019.

Google said, “These users may have received either an incomplete archive or videos — not photos — that were not theirs.”

Google Takeout is a tool that is intended to make it easier for people to download copies of their data from cloud-hosted services like email or storage of photos and videos.

Must read: Google Chrome 79 update resumes after fixing data bug

Basically Takeout was intended to provide people with an easier way to liberate their personal data from online services. However, in this case, videos were delivered to the wrong people.

Managing director of Privacy Matters Pat Walshe said, “It is very worrying that other people may receive your private videos with all the implications for your privacy and possibly safety and those of others.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *