Facebook has now started demanding its users to upload their photo to verify their identity. Users on Reddit and Facebook help section say that this feature is not new, they have seen this feature from April.
When a user tries to open an account, a message will pop up saying, “Please upload a photo of yourself which clearly shows your face. When you send us a photo, we’ll check it and then permanently delete it from our servers.”
As per an official statement, the aim of the app is to “catch suspicious activity at various points of interaction on the site, including creating an account, sending Friend requests, setting up ad payments, and creating or editing ads.”
Now, this is an automatic process that will appear if the users have multiple accounts or are seen doing any suspicious activity. The users would have to provide an original picture, that has not been uploaded previously. The picture will be verified and Facebook official will get back to the user in a 72-hour time period. While the picture is being analyzed the Facebook user will not be able to login to his/her account.
Must read: Tencent beats Facebook
To all the fake Facebook account holders, this is a warning. Your account will be closed if you are unable to provide your picture for login authentication. Facebook wants to close down fake accounts and people having multiple accounts with different names. The step taken by Facebook is necessary to ensure that the platform is used only by real people to communicate with each other.