The developers of the messenger service WhatsApp currently seem to be working on a new function with which sent messages can be automatically deleted after viewing them. The feature is included in the current beta version and could be rolled out soon.
It was announced some time ago that WhatsApp users should have the option of being able to set messages with a timer in the future. The message is deleted from the recipient after the specified time. As WABetaInfo reports, this function should also be used for sent media files. The content is removed from the smartphone as soon as the user leaves the chat. However, there should not be a timer here.
Feature is still under development
The function is called “Expiring Media” and has already been integrated into a build of the closed beta. However, the feature is currently still in development, so it is currently not possible to use it.
No Signs in the chat history
The new feature should work in connection with images, videos, and GIF files. After the messages have been removed, the user will not be notified. After viewing it, there is no longer any indication that the user actually received the respective message. However, it is unclear whether the deleted message will continue to appear in an internal log file.
If the tests are successful, the “Expiring Media” function could soon also be built into a final version of the popular chat app. So far, however, the developers have not released any official information on the subject.
Manager at Research Snipers, RS-NEWS, Digital marketing enthusiast and industry professional in Digital technologies, Technology News, Mobile phones, software, gadgets with vast experience in the tech industry, I have a keen interest in technology, News breaking.