England mistakenly awarded an extra run in the final over against New Zealand?

According to a former international umpire, the team England was wrongly awarded an extra run in its final match of the World Cup 2019 against New Zealand.

In the final over of the regular play, England’s Ben Stokes unintentionally deflected the ball off his bat to the boundary for the four runs when he dived to get his bat into the crease, which converted England’s two runs into the six runs and made a way to the super over.

Read Also: Why Conference Calling is Good For Business? Benefits of Conference Calling

While reacting on this, Simon Taufel, a well-renowned former international umpire said that the umpires in the ground made a ‘clear mistake’ in awarding the six runs to England, rather than the correct figure of five as the batsmen had not yet crossed fo the second run when the ball was thrown.

“The error also meant that the best batsman of England, Ben Stokes, retained the strike,” he added.

While talking to Fox Sports, Taufel referred to the rather vague rule 19.8 of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) rulebook which states: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be:

– any runs for penalties awarded to either side

– and the allowance for the boundary

– and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

“It is a clear mistake … it’s an error of the judgment,” Simon Taufel said.

On the other hand, the skipper of the team New Zealand, Kane Williamson was philosophical about the incident in the final of the world cup, saying it was “part of the game”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *